Three NZTBA Branches present annual awards this month

The NZTBA awards season continues with three branches presenting their annual award dinners in the next week.

The Hawke's Bay-Poverty Bay branch holds its function tomorrow evening, Friday 9 September, and the Auckland branch follows with its awards dinner at Ellerslie on Sunday evening, 11 September. Both branches have plenty of 2004-05 stakeswinners to celebrate. The Hawke's Bay honour roll includes New Zealand Horse of the Year Xcellent (bred by the Graeme Gimblett Family Trust) and WRC Captain Cook S. G1 winner Rodin (bred by Richard Wood).
Leading performers bred by NZTBA Auckland members include G1 Calveen (bred by Don and Rochelle McLaren), G3 Pacific Dancer (Haunui Farm Ltd and Bruce & Ivy Hutton) and G3 Our Egyptian Raine (Chris Ball, Mal Barratt, Ken Rae & Nick Rodokal).

That's followed by the NZTBA Taranaki-Wanganui annual awards dinner on Tuesday 13 September. Sponsored by Highview Stud, the dinner will feature trainer Graeme Rogerson as guest speaker. Stars of last season bred in the region include Group One winners Mi Jubilee (bred by Gordon Lambert) and Perlin (Bill and Theresa Hurlstone). This year the Taranaki-Wanganui branch, in conjunction with Four Winds Stud, will also recognise members who bred their first winner in 2004-05.

The highly successful NZTBA Waikato Group One dinner was held in Hamilton at the end of July; the South Island Racing & Breeding Awards were held last month; and the Wellington branch will present its awards in October.

NZTBA chief executive Michael Martin says, "We're extremely fortunate to have such active and dedicated people prepared to give their time to the Association's branches. Their work, presenting awards, organising stud tours, seminars and social events, and sponsoring races, plays a vital role in encouraging people to breed thoroughbreds in every region of New Zealand."

- Susan Archer


This product has been added to your cart