Back to top


The New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association (NZTBA) was established in 1949 with the first annual meeting held on January 25 in Wellington under the direction of the inaugural president Ken Austin.

The NZTBA represents and advocates for New Zealand breeders on a variety of national and international issues. The current membership stands at approximately 1300 and is split into eight regional branches; Auckland, Waikato, Taranaki-Wanganui, Central Districts, Hawke’s Bay, Wellington, Canterbury-Marlborough-Westland-Otago and Southland.

The NZTBA are actively involved in the following:

Working with government agencies
Equine research
Producing the annual NZ Stallion Register
Developing equine welfare initiatives and awareness
Bloodstock taxation
Environment and sustainability
Lobbying ACC
Health and Safety regulations
Equine health and biosecurity issues
Training and education opportunities
Providing accurate and easily accessible information about the thoroughbred industry

The NZTBA administers the hugely successful NZB Insurance Pearl Series which offers bonuses and prizemoney of almost $2.6 million and prizemoney of nearly $2.8 million to registered southern hemisphere-bred fillies and mares. The scheme includes 200 individual races over three seasons of racing, with bonuses for each race of up to $20,000. The Series has been designed to benefit owners, trainers and breeders of fillies and mares running in New Zealand and races are run in all regions of the country.


This product has been added to your cart