Search Copy

NZTBA Waikato honours 2005-06 Group One breeders

Multiple Group One winner Starcraft, bred at Waikato Stud by Garry Chittick, was named the Cathay Pacific Waikato Horse Of The Year at the annual Group One dinner hosted by the Waikato branch of the New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association in Hamilton on Friday night.

World Champion Older Miler STARCRAFT,
proudly bred in New Zealand by Garry Chittick
at Waikato Stud
PHOTO: Courtesy of NZ Thoroughbred Marketing

Purchased for $80,000 at the 2000 NZ Premier Sale by agent Robert Dawe for owner Paul Makin, Starcraft became the first New Zealand-bred horse to win at Group One level in Europe when he took out the Prix du Moulin de Longchamp, and the Newmarket Queen Elizabeth II Stakes last September. He is now standing at Cheveley Stud, Newmarket, and Arrowfield Stud, New South Wales.

Mark Chittick of Waikato Stud, Matamata said everyone associated with Starcraft was very proud of his achievements at international level and the horse was a wonderful advertisement for the New Zealand breeding industry.

Other special award winners were:

Mills Reef Personality of the Year – JIM MARKS
Jim is a well-known and highly respected veterinarian, owner & breeder based in Matamata

Flair Quiet Achiever – MARY LYNNE RYAN
Mary Lynne is an outstanding member and former committee member of the
NZTBA Waikato branch, responsible for establishing the Waikato Equine Training Scheme more than 20 years ago.

Ford Champion Two-Year-Old – JOKERS WILD (Black Minnaloushe-Miss Rory)
Jokers Wild, owned by N. J. Carter, G. J. Christini & Miss B. M. Paterson, and trained by Michael & Paul Moroney, and Andrew Scott, won four of his eight starts last season, including both Group One Sires' Produce Stakes races, at Awapuni and Ellerslie.

The branch honoured twenty 2005-06 Group One winners bred by NZTBA Waikato branch members. The list of winners with their sire, dam, Group One wins, and
breeder(s) is:

Group One Winner
Group One Wins
1 Aug 2005-31 July 2006
NZTBA Waikato Breeder
(Zabeel-Show Games)
ARC Galaxy Stakes Lorna Moore
DARCI BRAHMA(Danehill-Grand Echezeaux) CJC NZ 2000 Guineas, Otaki-Maori WFA Peter and Philip Vela
(Quest For Fame-Chimeara)
STC Rosehill Guineas Peter and Phillip Vela
(Pins-Palos Verdes)
MRC Caulfield Stakes Phillip and Catherine Brown
(Tale Of The Cat-Escada)
VRC Victoria Racing Club S. Garry Chittick
(Anabaa-Monroe Magic)
AJC Australian Derby Tim Bodle
(Slavic-Santa Barbra)
Waikato RC Waikato Sprint
ARC Second Century S.
Willow Park Ltd
LAD OF THE MANOR(Zabeel-Matrona) VRC L.K.S. MacKinnon Stakes David Thomas
(Pins-River Century)
WRC New Zealand Oaks Waikato Stud 2001 Ltd
MACAVELLI MISS(Vettori-Syrenka) WRC Thorndon Mile Ben McGregor
SAJC Australasian Oaks Waikato Stud 2001 Ltd
(Dolphin Street-Richfield Rose)
HBRI Horlicks Challenge S. Bill Borrie
MNEMOSYNE (AUS)(Encosta De Lago-My Juliet) MRC 1000 Guineas
STC Queen Of The Turf Stakes
Wilson Jolly
(Peintre Celebre-Lamora)
AJC George Main Stakes Bob Emery
(Pentire-Tuff One)
ARC Auckland Cup Peter Fraher
RAGS TO RICHES(Entrepreneur-Candescent) ARC Easter Handicap Kelly Danford
(Cape Cross-Just Cruising)
CJC NZ 1000 Guineas Dick Karreman
(Soviet Star-Flying Floozie)
Prix du Moulin de Longchamp
Newmarket Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Garry Chittick
HKJC Hong Kong International Cup Keith Biggs
(Almutawakel-Rory's Helen)
Levin RC Levin Classic ARC New Zealand Derby Trelawney Stud Ltd

- NZTM/Susan Archer


This product has been added to your cart