Wahid named Taranaki Horse of the Year

Wahid, bred by Trelawney Stud Ltd, was named 2006 Taranaki Horse of the Year at the region's Breeding and Racing Awards, attended by around 120 people last evening in Hawera.

WAHID winning the Levin Classic G1 last November.
PHOTO: Courtesy NZ Thoroughbred Marketing
The awards dinner, organised by the NZTBA Taranaki-Wanganui branch and the Taranaki District Turf Club, was sponsored by Highview Stud, whose managing director, Brent Gillovic, now owns Wahid's dam, Rory's Helen, and her yearling colt by Kashani.

Wahid, by Almutawakel from Rory's Helen (Rory's Jester), won six of his nine starts last season, including the ARC New Zealand Derby G1 and Levin RC Levin Classic G1. He is trained by Allan Sharrock for owners Noel & Ron Stanley.

Broodmare of the Year was Madam Valeta, dam of G3 Falkirk and two other winners during 2005-06, Dekaap and Yelaad. The 18-year-old daughter of Palace Music and Lovenvain is owned by Wanganui breeder Alan Burnet and Windsor Park Stud Ltd.

Wayne Darling, representing breeders Bill Hurlstone and his late wife Teresa, accepted a Group One plaque in recognition of Perlin's victory in last year's MRC Underwood S. G1.

The breeders of Wellington Steeplechase winner Stitched were also honoured: Mrs P M & R J Browne, Mrs C M & J P Goodin, S M Kristensen, Mrs C A & K D Landrigan, Mrs P J & R J Pearce & W K Taylor.

Framed certificates were presented to those NZTBA members who had achieved their first winners as breeders last season. These awards are sponsored by Kerry Caldwell of Four Winds Stud. Recipients were Olivia Duffy, for Red Empress; and Brian O'Dea, for Roanah.

The branch also recognised non-members of the NZTBA within the Taranaki-Wanganui region who had bred a Group, Listed Stakes or Premier Jumping Race winner in 2005-06. The breeders of G3 All Square, SW Bulginbah, SW State of Origin and Premier Jumps winners Starbo and Praise The Lord were recognised in this way. We're delighted that Praise The Lord's co-breeder Wayne Darling joined the Association on the night!

- Aidan Schumacher