NZTBA announces Breeder & Broodmare of the Year Finalists

As the 2015-16 racing season draws to a close it is time to reflect on a stellar season for the New Zealand breeding industry both at home and internationally with over 30 Group One winners beginning their lives on New Zealand farms.

A Melbourne Cup winner, four Derby winners, three Oaks winners, 25% of all Group One winners in Australia, the list goes on, and the quality and calibre of the New Zealand bred is reflected in the list of finalists for the Breeder of the Year and Broodmare of the Year at the 2016 New Zealand Thoroughbred Awards in Auckland next month.

In one of the most competitive years on record five breeders are up for Breeder of the Year, with each of these breeders having breed more than one Group One winner. The competition for the Broodmare of the Year is just as strong with five outstanding mares vying for that title.

The finalists for the Breeder of the Year are:

Gerry Harvey (Westbury Stud)
Sir Patrick and Justine Lady Hogan (Cambridge Stud)
IDL Limited (Dominic Li)
Llanhennock Trust (Hawkins Family)
Rich Hill Limited (Alan Galbraith).

Westbury Stud's Gerry Harvey bred the Australian Oaks winner Sofia Rosa (Makfi[GB]-Bislieri) who also won the Group Two Royal Stakes, Group Three Lowland Stakes and ran second in the Group One New Zealand Oaks; and under his Thoroughbred Holdings banner the Group One Doomben 10,000 Stakes winner Music Magnate (Written Tycoon[AUS]-Concert Girl). As well he bred five individual Listed winners: Telepathic, Hursley, Ichiban, Passing Shot and Red Stryker, and a further four stakes performers.

Cambridge Stud's boom sire Tavistock was responsible for siring the two Derby winners bred by Sir Patrick and Justine Lady Hogan. Tarzino, out of the Zabeel mare Zarzino, won the Victoria Derby in the spring and added the Rosehill Guineas to his winning tally in the Autumn. Tavago (ex Sara Ann), bred in partnership by the Hogans with John and Chris Kelly, won the ATC Australian Derby, and the Group Three Wellington Stakes. While Preferment (Zabeel- Better Alternative[AUS]) another bred in partnership won three Group One events, the BMW Stakes, Australian Cup and the Turnbull Stakes as well as the Group Two Hill Stakes. A further 13 stakes performers can also be attributed to the Hogans.

Last year's Breeder of the Year, IDL Limited is a finalist again this year, thanks to the deeds of Volkstok'N'Barrell (Tavistock – Volkster), and Suavito (Thorn Park[AUS]-Queen Cha Cha).

Volkstok'N'Barrell franked his three-year-old form by winning two Group One weight-for-age events this season, the New Zealand Stakes at Ellerslie and the Haunui Weight-For-Age Stakes at Otaki. He also ran third in the Group Two Hollindale Stakes. Suavito won the Group One CF Orr stakes and was placed third in the Group Three Futurity Stakes, while her half-brother Sultan of Swing (Bachelor Duke[USA]) ran third in the Listed Trevor Eagle Memorial Stakes.

The Hawkins Family of Wentworth Grange in Cambridge breed under the banner of Llanhennock Trust and they also produced a Group One winner in both Australia and New Zealand. They bred Kermadec (Teofilo[IRE]-Hy Fuji[AUS]) who, after winning at Group One level at three came back at four and won the Group One George Main Stakes, and was also placed three times at Group One level during the season under review.

Closer to home the family raced and bred the Group One Herbie Dyke Stakes winner Valley Girl (Mastercraftsman[IRE]-Leigh Valley) - she also ran second in the Group One Vinery Stud Stakes and third in the Group Two Eight Carat Classic. They also bred the stakes performers El Sicario and Little Haast.

The fifth finalist for the Breeder of the Year is Rich Hill Limited, the breeding business of Auckland barrister Alan Galbraith, who is also a shareholder in Rich Hill Thoroughbreds Limited. Rich Hill Stud's sire Pentire was responsible for the two Group One winners bred by Galbraith. The classy three-year-old Xtravagant (Pentire[GB]-Axiom) was his best performer, winning the Group One 2000 Guineas in the spring, before coming out in the Autumn and beating the older horses in the Group One Waikato Sprint. He also added the Group Three Cambridge Stakes to his season's tally.

Galbraith's second star was the Group One Melbourne Cup winner Prince of Penzance (ex Royal Successor), who also had two placings at Group level last spring. Rich Hill Thoroughbreds Limited also bred four other stakes performers, Megawatt, Tucanchoo, First Serve and Nigelissima.

The Broodmare of The Year finalists are:
Bagalollies (AUS) (Zabeel-Lady's Night) dam of the Hong Kong Horse of the Year Werther (by Tavistock), the winner of the Group One HKJC Queen Elizabeth Handicap and the Hong Kong Derby. Bagalollies is owned Tommy Heptinstall, Andrew Campbell, Tom Pivac, John and Chris Barnao, David Allison and David Platt.

Better Alternative (AUS) (Flying Spur[AUS]-Ancient Lights) the dam of triple Group One winner Preferment (Zabeel), owned Coolmore Stud and the China Horse Club.

Indomitable (Danehill[USA]-Kwan) the dam of the dual Group One winner Turn Me Loose(Iffraaj [IRE]) leased by Maryanne and George Simon from Sir Peter Vela.

Mica's Pride (AUS) (Bite The Bullet[USA]-Gainesville[AUS]) the dam of the Group One Caulfield Stakes winner Criterion, owned by Go Bloodstock Limited.

Staryn Glen (Montjeu[IRE]- Soleil Etoile) the dam of the Group One ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes winner Lucia Valentina. She is owned by Helen-Gaye and Graham Bax.

Three stallion Awards will also be presented at the New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards: the Grosvenor Award based on New Zealand stakes earnings, the Dewar Award based on the combined stake earnings in Australia and New Zealand, and the Centaine Award based on the worldwide earnings.


This product has been added to your cart