Search Copy

NZTBA Auckland honours Group-winning breeders

The importance of New Zealand's base of private breeders was very evident at the NZTBA Auckland Awards dinner, sponsored by Bloodstock Underwriters, at Ellerslie on Sunday evening. All but one of the seventeen Group winners honoured on the night were bred by private broodmare owners, although Zagalia's breeder Terry Jarvis was until recently the owner of The Oaks Stud in Cambridge.

However, Don McLaren who, with his wife Rochelle, received the branch's inaugural Auckland Breeder of the Year award, warned that the industry is now very difficult for private breeders. As a former chairman of New Zealand Thoroughbred Marketing and past chairman of the Auckland Racing Club, Mr McLaren has considerable experience of the economic and political factors which have made both racing and selling thoroughbreds in New Zealand a daunting challenge, especially for breeders operating from a relatively small base of mares.

The industry can be heartened, though, by the strength of those who have "hung in there". A very popular award recipient was Val Langsford, breeder of Group 2 winner Maze, and her half-brother Penitentiary (by Pentire) who won at Otaki on Saturday. Along with Don McLaren and NZTBA Life Members Charlie Roberts and Brian Mollett, Mrs Langsford was a founding committee member of the NZTBA Auckland branch, more than forty years ago. Mr Roberts accepted the award for Katana on behalf of his family, and Mr Mollett accepted the Group winner's plaque for Millnorm on behalf of Stud de Fresnay's Theresa Hawkins.

Another long-time breeder Richard Moore received the award for Ubiquitous and was the recipient of the Generous Award for his lifetime contribution to breeding in the Auckland region. Mr Moore's success with the famous 'Gabardine' family is as remarkable as he is self-effacing. Gabardine's descendants include no fewer than 26 stakes performers, among them four Group One winners: Soliloquy, Solveig, Prince Of Praise and Cross Swords.

The only Auckland stud to receive a Group-winner's award was Brett and Kim Jenkins' Glenmorgan Farm, honoured for Maguire and the recipient of an International Achievement Award for outstanding jumper Zabenz.

Haunui Farm's Ron Chitty accepted the awards for Champion Auckland sire (by aggregate earnings and individual winners) Desert Sun - a rather ironic presentation as the horse was sold to Australia four years ago. He was represented by three daughters who won Group races last season: G3 Danceinthesun, G1 Egyptian Raine and G2 Sunline.

The Sybil Hayward Trophy for the Auckland Broodmare of the Year was won by Egyptian Raine's dam Egyptian Queen, owned by Kenny Rae, Mal Barratt, Chris Ball & Nick Rodokal.

Guest speaker for the evening was Shannon Taylor, winner of the 2003 NZTBA Auckland International Management Scholarship. She gave a poised and informative summary of her study tour of three major US and European studs and confirmed the value of the Scholarship both to the winner and the New Zealand industry.

The full list of 2002-03 Group winners bred by NZTBA Auckland members is:

Kenny Rae & partners

Don & Rochelle McLaren

Peter Newson

Terry Jarvis

Donna Logan

Lars Pearson

Roberts Holdings Ltd

Glenmorgan Farm

Val Langsford

Susan Archer & Michael Martin

Dennis Bolton

Anne & Steve Phillips

Tim Harrison

Stud de Fresnay

Richard Moore

The late Maurice Paykel (in partnership with NZTBA Waikato member Bob Morris)

- Susan Archer


This product has been added to your cart