NEW ZEALAND RACING THOROUGHBRED RACING

MEDIA RELEASE

September 10, 2017

2017 NZ THOROUGHBRED HORSE OF THE YEAR AWARDS

Twenty-four awards were presented at the 2017 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards dinner in Auckland on Sunday night.

2017 Horse of the Year: Bonneval (27 votes). Also: Gingernuts (15), Kawi (10), Jon Snow (3).

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Racing: David Ellis.

Champion Two-Year-Old: Melody Belle (46). Other finalists: Summer Passage (11), Gold Fever.

Champion Three-Year-Old: Bonneval (30).

Other finalists: Gingernuts (24), Jon Snow (3), La Diosa, Ugo Foscolo.

Champion Sprinter (up to 1500m): Start Wondering (50).

Other finalists: Kawi (3), Saracino (3), Signify.

Champion Middle Distance Horse (1501m-2100m): Kawi (55).

Other finalists: Volkstok'n'barrell (1), Thee Auld Floozie, Willie Cazals.

Champion Stayer (2101m and further): Bonneval (37).

Other finalists: Chenille (8), Gingernuts (6), Jon Snow (3), Chocante (1), Jacksstar, Lizzie

L'Amour.

Champion Jumper: Kick Back (36).

Other finalists: Sea King (14), Amanood Lad (4), Ngario (2), Upper Cut (1), D'Llaro,

Raisafuasho.

Dunstan Trainer of the Year: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman (56).

Other finalist: Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards (1).

Jockey of the Year: Chris Johnson (31).

Other finalists: Opie Bosson (23), Matt Cameron (1), Alysha Collett, Danielle Johnson.

Jumps Jockey of the Year: Aaron Kuru (31). Other finalists: Shaun Fannin (26), Will Gordon.

Owner of the Year: JML Bloodstock (45).

Other finalists: Hermitage Thoroughbreds (6), Lincoln Farms Bloodstock (1), China Horse Club, Kevin Hickman, NZ Thoroughbred Holdings, Sir Peter Vela, Raffles Dancers (NZ).

Media Award: Trish Dunell, Trish Dunell Photography (32).

Other finalists: Paul Vettise (12), Mat Kermeen (6).

Breeder of the Year: Goodwood Stud (Breeder of Gingernuts, Nicoletta & Order Again).

Other finalists: City Bloodstock, John & Christine Goodon, Richard Moore.

Broodmare of the Year: Imposingly (dam of Bonneval & Imposing Lass).

Other finalists: Double Elle, Star Band.

Strapper of the Year - sponsored by Chris Waller: Joanne Roylands.

Other finalists: Anthony Burton, Masaji Haruki.

Trainers' Premiership: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman.

Jockeys' Premiership: Chris Johnson.

Apprentices' Premiership: Sam Weatherley.

Owners' Premiership: JML Bloodstock.

Grosvenor Award: (stallion earnings in NZ): Savabeel.

Dewar Trophy: (stallion earnings in New Zealand and Australia):

Savabeel.

Centaine Award: (Stallion earnings worldwide): Savabeel.

NZ Bloodstock Filly of the Year: Bonneval.

Issued by New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Tel: +64 4 576 6240, Fax: +64 4 568 8866 e-mail: office@nzracing.co.nz | Web: www.nzracing.co.nz