IDL Breeding, Parfore & Waikato Stud win Breeding Awards

Waikato Stud, IDL Breeding & wonder broodmare Parfore received the breeding industry's highest honours at the New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards held on Thursday evening in Hamilton.

The Awards celebrated an outstanding 2014-15 season for Kiwi-bred horses and New Zealand breeders, owners, trainers & jockeys in domestic & international comeptition.

Dominic Li's IDL Breeding Ltd won the coveted Breeder of the Year title after breeding Australian Group 1 winners Volkstock'n'barrell & Suavito from his small broodmare band based at Mana Park near Cambridge.

Mike Ryan's extraordinary mare Parfore, dam of Group 1 winners Terravista and Tiger Tees in 2014-15 was named Broodmare of the Year, and Waikato Stud completed a clean sweep of the stallion trophies. Savabeel won the Grosvenor Award (Champion New Zealand Sire by domestic earnings) and the Dewar Trophy (Champion New Zealand-based Sire by Australasian earnings), while the late, great O'Reilly claimed the Centaine Award with worldwide progeny earnigns of more than $11 million.

The award for Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Racing was presented to the celebrated breeders, owners, trainers & vendors, the Dennis brothers, Joe, Martin, Ray and Tony.

From their base at Woodlands in Southland, they have enjoyed a half-century of remarkable success with top-class horses that have won Derbys, Oaks, Cups and weight-for-age features, including the Cox Plate. Major performers bred by the quartet include The Phantom Chance, The Jewel, The Phantom, The Twinkle and The Diamond One and Broodmares of the Year, The Pixie, The Fantasy and The Grin.

Pin-up colt Mongolian Khan, the dual Group One winner of the New Zealand Derby and the Australian Derby, was an overwhelming winner of the Horse of the Year, Champion Three-Year-Old and Champion Stayer awards.

He is raced by the Inner Mongolia Rider Horse Industry, who were named the Owners of the Year, while Sir Peter Vela claimed the Owners' Premiership Award.

While Mongolian Khan was their flagship performer, Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman had significant depth within their stable ranks and completed a record-breaking season to be crowned the Trainers of the Year.

They surpassed John Sargent's 2011-12 mark of 111 by rolling out 113 winners, including 17 at Group or Listed level, of $3,273,070. Their strike rate of 4.83 was unmatched by any other trainer in the top 60 on the Premiership.

2015 NZ Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Award Winners
Grosvenor Award
(NZ earnings)

Savabeel (Zabeel-Savannah Success)

Dewar Award
(Australasian earnings)

Savabeel (Zabeel-Savannah Success)

Centaine Award
(Worldwide earnings)

O'Reilly (Last Tycoon-Courtza)

Broodmare of the Year

Parfore (Gold Brose-Classy Twiggy) dam of Terravista and Tiger Tees

Breeder of the Year

IDL Breeding Ltd. breeder of Volkstok'n'barrell & Sauvito

NZB Filly of the Year

Platinum Witness (California Dane-Chartreuse)
Media Award

Brendan Popplewell, Trackside
McBeath Apprentice Jockey of the Year

Rory Hutchings

Jumps Jockey of the Year

Michael Mitchell
Jockey of the Year

Matthew Cameron

Jockeys' Premiership

Matthew Cameron

Dunstan Trainer of the Year

Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman

Trainers' Premiership

Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman

Owner of the Year

Inner Mongolia Rider Horse Industry (NZ) Ltd

Owners' Premiership

Sir Peter Vela
Champion Jumper

Amanood Lad
Champion Two-Year-Old

Marky Mark
Champion Three-Year-Old

Mongolian Khan
Champion Sprinter
(up to 1500m)

Sacred Star
Champion Middle Distance Horse (1501-2100m)

Champion Stayer (2101m +)

Mongolian Khan
NZTR Award for Outstanding Global Achievement

James McDonald

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution To NZ Racing

Joe, Martin, Ray and Tony Dennis
2015 Horse of the Year

Mongolian Khan



This product has been added to your cart