Search Copy

NZTR Board appoints new Chairman

The Board of New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing (NZTR) announced today the appointment of Dr Alan Jackson as its Chairmanfrom the conclusion of the AGM on 6 November 2015.

Mrs Victoria Carter was appointed Deputy Chairman.

The Chairman and Deputy Chairman are appointed annually by the Board from among its six directors.

This follows NZTR Chairman, Matthew Goodson's, announcement in June 2015 that he will not be seeking re-election for a further three-year term and will retire from the NZTR Board at the conclusion of this year's AGM. Matthew Goodson was appointed to the restructured independent NZTR Board in 2011 and has held the position of Chairman from that time.

On his appointment Dr Jackson stated: "Together with the Board, I look forward to working collaboratively with stakeholders and industry bodies to implement a sustainable plan for thoroughbred racing and the racing industry in a rapidly changing industry which presents challenges and, more importantly, opportunities."

"I appreciate the support and confidence of my fellow directors in appointing me to this significant role in the racing industry. I and the other directors fully accept the importance of the task the industry has charged us with."

Dr Jackson has had over 30 years of business experience across a wide spectrum of industries and disciplines including public and listed companies and racing bodies in three countries.

His current governance roles include independent directorships of Fletcher Building, Fletcher Finance Limited and Delegat Group.

He was a founding Director of the New Zealand Racing Board between 2003 and 2006 and again in 2012-13 including serving as Chairman.

He served as Chairman of the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) Australasia between 2003 and 2009 and has chaired the Housing Corporation of New Zealand.

He is an owner and breeder in New Zealand and Australia and a member of the New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association, New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners' Federation, Australian Racehorse Owners' Association, Auckland Racing Club and Taupo Racing Club (part of the TRAC Group).



This product has been added to your cart